dresses at the oscars 2011 (III)


Scarlett Johanson usually looks great. I guess she wanted to try something different, but I think she failed with this look. The “just got out of bed” hair is not really appropriate at the Oscars and her dress looks like a self-made dress from some old curtains.

This dress is amazing and it looks great on Jennifer Hudson, although her breasts look a bit contrived. I think I would have liked some other colour for her. I feel this is too “in your face”.

Academy award winner for best supporting actress, Melissa Leo, looks.. hmm… I don’t like how she looks. This dress makes her broad-shouldered and I don’t think it had enough glamour for the Oscars.

Meh. I don’t like this dress on Helen Mirren. It’s cheap looking. Mostly because of the creases. Probably this photo isn’t doing her justice, because it all looks greyish – her hair, her face, the dress.

This dress Cate Blanchett is wearing is kind of interesting – it looks like a fighter’s breastplate, so it’s fierce, but it’s also very delicate, because it’s pale pink and those decorative elements. I also love the contrast with the yellow, but it does make her a bit broad-shouldered. I’ve seen another picture of her hwere the dress appeared to have more volume on the skirt to balance with the top part and she looked gorgeous.

Annete Bening’s dress is okay. It’s glamorous and event-appropriate and she looks great for her age.

It would have been funny if either Mila Kunis or Natalie Portman had decided to wear Hilary Swank’s feathery dress. I’m not too impressed by this look.

Noooooo! That is SO ugly!! 😦 Hello, Cruella de Vil! Sharon Stone’s wearing one of the most horrible, cheap looking dresses I have seen. And the hair and makeup?! She must be a time-traveller from the 90’s. It looks so matronly on her.

Source of the photos: http://oscars.movies.yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 4,010 hits
